Gregory Pottie: Electrical and Computer Engineering

2015-Headshot-PottieGregory Pottie is the Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

He received his B.S. in Engineering Physics from Queen’s University, Ontario, Canada, and his Master’s degree and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from McMaster University in Ontario, Canada. He joined UCLA Engineering in 1991. Previously, he worked on digital subscriber lines and voiceband modems for Motorola/Codex.

Pottie’s research is in the area of signals and systems. One focus is on resource allocation problems in wireless communications. Another is on modeling, inference, and experimental design in sensor networks with application to biomedical informatics and wireless health.

From 2002 to 2012 he was deputy director of the Center for Embedded Network Sensing, an NSF-funded Science and Technology Center focused on developing wireless sensing systems.

Pottie is a Fellow of IEEE, a former Fulbright Senior Scholar and a winner of the Okawa Foundation Award for work in sensor networks and telecommunications. From 2003 to 2009, Pottie served as UCLA Engineering’s associate dean for research and physical resources. He serves as faculty advisor to UCLA Engineering’s Tech Camp, a program in which undergraduates offer mentorship in engineering to high school students.

He was named chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering in 2015.


Jayathi Murthy
Dean, UCLA Engineering

Jia-Ming Liu
Associate Dean, Academic Personnel

Harold Monbouquette
Associate Dean, Research and Physical Resources

Richard D. Wesel
Associate Dean, Academic and Student Affairs

Jenn-Ming Yang
Associate Dean, International Initiatives and Online Programs

Scott J. Brandenberg
Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion

Mary Okino
Assistant Dean, Chief Financial Officer

Brandon Baker
Assistant Dean, Office of External Affairs

Department Chairs:
Song Li

Panagiotis Christofides
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Jonathan P. Stewart
Civil and Environmental Engineering

Adnan Darwiche
Computer Science

Gregory Pottie
Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dwight C. Streit
Materials Science and Engineering

Christopher Lynch
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering